Social Anxiety

Sitting here trying to get myself motivated to go out and see a band I know. I force myself at times to go out socially so I don’t feel like a total introvert. .even as a teenager I would avoid gatherings with large crowds. In the past I would ply myself with alcohol & drugs to overcome my anxiety. Most of the friends I made over the years were associated with these activities. Now that I don’t drink or do drugs anymore…I’ve lost those relationships…so when I do go out it’s just me, myself & I. I usually don’t socialize or talk with anyone….I never know what to say. At least when I was drinking, I could unselfconsciously act like an ass and enjoy it (sigh)…Well not really sure where I going with this thread of thought, except to say I’m really tired of living like this.

5 thoughts on “Social Anxiety

  1. I have social anxiety often too. I hate it. Sometimes I go out with the permission to turn around and come back if I don’t want to go in, leave early if I need to, etc. Giving myself permission to leave helps me get out the door, and its usually okay once I get there. But, it sucks!

      1. Hey, we have to stick together! I write about my anxiety. Just search for anxiety on my site. Last year was horribly debilitating for me.

      2. I so agree about sticking together…and I really appreciate the support & compassion….there’s a lot of good, caring people on WP…I just need to stop focusing on the support I’m not getting from someone….and be grateful for those who do show they care.

      3. That’s part of anxiety, right??? I focus on the one criticism rather than the 50 who loved it!

Leave a Reply

